... through their 'immensity' these two kinds of space - the space of intimacy and world space - blend. When human solitude deepens, then the two immensities touch and become identical.
Gaston Bachelard[1]

"Virtual reality" is being revealed to us daily and, it seems, with some urgency. The digital, or computer-generated, image is now rapidly outdoing the direct image of reality captured by photography, film and video. Substituting virtual digital simulation for analogue representation, the moving, three-dimensional worlds of computer animation overturn our notions of space, time and place. The experience of being immersed in a virtual environment, in which the body and its movements play a vital role, momentarily transforms our perceptionn of reality by offering us the illusion of entering the image. Is this a matter of merely confounding the senses, exercising a short-lived hold over reality, or rather an opportunity to explore undreamt-of outlooks?

For some 15 years, Char Davies has been engaged in artistic research that has led her to formulate a problem that lies at the very heart of the emergence of a constantly and dramatically changing technology: how can the experience of being immersed in a virtual space come to convey an artistic intention, and under what conditions does it define an idea or an expressive content?

Omose[2], a recent work conceived and directed by Davies in collaboration with Softimage, and part of the Musée's Project Series, is a timely endeavour in averting designations that have become far too simplistic, confined solely to the sphere of technological experimentation, and in giving evidence of the philosophical and aesthetic avenues opening up to this new medium.

Right off, the installation invites the visitor to partake in an interactive experience of being immersed in a virtual reality as made possible by digital technology: a head mounted display allows the individual to experience the virtual environment as a three-dimensional, visual and acoustic space; in addition, a jacket fitted with position detectors that capture certain body motions creates a real-time interaction between the body and the simulated space. But where Davies' approach breaks from the usual style of control and domination that characterizes most commercial interactive games, or from simulation systems used for scientific, or even military, purposes, is in the way she explores and develops a mode of immersion and interactivity that involves the whole body in a subjective experience of interconnectedness with the virtual world. Deep breathing and slow, subtle movements around the body's centre of balance - in harmony with a state of inner equilibrium - thus form the interface between the intuitive experience of merging with nature and the rediscovery of the body through this metaphorical world.[3].

symbolic realms of this virtual environment - Forest, Clearing, Leaf, Stream, Pond, Earth, Abyss, etc. - through which the "immersant"[4] travels in complete intimacy, reconstitute and rehabilitate nature as the site of a renewed spirituality. Indeed, according to Davies, the plundering of nature, which has historically characterized Western civilization and contributed to shaping its values, has irreversible consequences which must urgently be contained. These are not only environmental but, as our direct access to nature decreases, psychological as well. In this sense, Osmose undertakes to offer a means of "resisting" this degradation, of "acting against the increasing biological, ecological and spiritual impoverishment of our age". This quest for an intimate correspondence between self and nature, so as to renew contact with the very sources of our existence, constitutes the basis of the philosophical concerns which Davies discerningly explores in this new work. Osmose sets out to eliminate the Cartesian duality between body and mind, between subjective world and objective reality - a duality that has moulded our conception of nature as a separate entity and played a major part in our submitting it to shameless exploitation by man. In her novel experimentation with the kinaesthetic possibilities of the digital medium, Davies seeks to reinstate cultural values that are imbued with the desire to transcend this historical dichotomy between self and nature, between our physical, bodily entity and the vital, fluid, moving forces in which we take part.

In her wish to restore the primary links between the individual and natural phenomena, with their constellations of forms and of temporal rhythms, Davies proposes methods of immersion and interactivity, in this installation, that go against the codes of behaviour generally associated with the digital image. Renouncing the anthropocentric notion by which Western man has traditionally exercised his desire for power, Davies attempts to create conditions that express an underlying correlation between an almost meditative body posture and the transformations inherent in any life form. To that end, she uses computer technology to create metaphorical spaces in which the immersed individual accepts a renewed relationship with the natural world. The virtual Worlds visited in a state of serenity and receptiveness ideally give rise to a gradual release from the mechanisms of control that hamper our genuine Wish to experience "being" in the world. In Davies' own words, "the desire to reaffirm our essential physical and spiritual interconnectedness, to heal the alienation between ourselves and Nature is the germinal force behind the work."

In her artistic practice of the past several years, culminating with Osmose,[5] Char Davies develops the expressive power of a revolutionary technology, that of virtual digital space, which continually and significantly alters the fields of any investigation of reality. Striving to go beyond the realism of the analogue image, which is inescapably anchored in the representation of that which is visible, and to push back the limits of the aesthetic, perspectivistic conventions of the digital image, Davies appropriates the creative tools particular to virtual reality in order to devise non Cartesian simulated spaces, in which the representation acts as metaphor. With Osmose, the interactive experience of immersion in the virtual environment permeates the imagination, carrying it beyond the world of appearances, to the furthermost bounds of reality and its illusion. These artificial worlds, which maintain the ambiguity between figurative and abstract and reveal themselves surreptitiously in the shimmer of the light particles or the semi-transparency of the materials, define an "enveloping space" within which the immersed individual may create a new sense of the very essence of being.

Notes

1. The Poetics of Space, Beacon Press, 1969, p. 203.


2. "Osmosis as metaphor: transcendence of difference, through mutual absorption, dissolution of boundaries between inner and outer, inter-mingling of self and world, longing for the Other." This quotation, and the references that follow, are taken from an unpublished article by Char Davies, entitled Osmose.


3. The installation is designed to be both a solitary experience and a public witnessing. Shielded from audience view, the immersed individual is cocooned within the virtual space of the Head Mounted Display. At the same time, large-scale, stereoscopic video projection allows the audience to follow the exploration experience is it unfolds. Visible through a translucent partition, the silhouette of the "immersant" focuses the audience's attention on the body movements through which he or she interacts with the virtual space.


4. Neologism created by the artist.


5. According to Davies, the creation of Osmose shares some affinities with her practice of painting, in that both involve a process of continuing interaction with the work as it evolves. By frequently undergoing immersion within Osmose, the artst was able to gradually develop the various practical and conceptual aspects of the project with her team. The version of Osmose being presented at the Musée is the first phase in a project that will continue over the coming months.


This article may include minor changes from the original publication in order to improve legibility and layout consistency within the Immersence Website. † Significant changes from the original text have been indicated in red square brackets.

Last verified: December 13th 2013.

... c'est par leur "immensite" que les deux espaces: l'espace de l'intimité et l'espace du monde deviennent consonants. Quand s'approfondit la grande solitude de l'homme les deux immensités se touchent, se confondent.
Gaston Bachelard[1]

La «réalité virtuelle» se révèle à nous de jour en jour et, semble-t-il, non sans une certaine urgence. D'ores et déja, et de manière presque fulgurante, l'image numérique, dite de synthèse, fait surenchère à l'image saisie à même le réel par la photographie, le cinéma et la vidéo. Substituant la simulation virtuelle à la représentation analogique, les mondes mouvants et tridimensionnels de l'animation infographique font basculer nos notions de temps, d'espace et de lieu. L'expérience d'immersion dans un environnement virtuel, où le corps et ses déplacements jouent un rôle primordial, transforme en effet momentanément notre perception du réel en nous offrant l'illusion de pénétrer les images. Faut-il voir là une simple déroute des sens, l'Éphémère exercice d'une emprise sur la réalité, ou plutôt l'occasion d'explorer des perspectives insoupçonnées?

Depuis près de quinze ans déjà, Char Davies poursuit des recherches en arts visuels qui l'ont amenée à poser une problématique qui se trouve au cour même de l'éclosion d'une technologie virevoltante et en constante transformation: comment l'expérience d'immersion peut-elle devenir porteuse d'une intention artistique, et dans quelles conditions définit-elle un contenu expressif ou idéel?

Omose[2], oeuvre récente conçue et réalisée par Davies en collaboration avec Softimage dans le cadre de la Série Projet du Musée, arrive à point nommé pour conjurer les définitions par trop réductrices, limitées au seul champ de l'expérimentation technologique, et pour témoigner des avenues philosophiques et esthétiques qui s'ouvrent à ce nouveau médium.

D'emblée, l'installation convie le visiteur à une expérience interactive d'immersion au sein de la réalité virtuelle telle que rendue possible par la technologie numérique: d'une part, un casque de visualisation et d'écoute permet d'expérimenter l'environnement virtuel comme un espace tridimensionnel, à la fois visuel et sonore; d'autre part, une veste, munie de capteurs de position qui détectent les mouvements, crée une interaction un temps réel entre le corps et l'espace simulé. Mais là où l'approche de Davies s'inscrit en rupture par rapport aux méthodes courantes de contrôle et de domination qui caractérisent l'utilisation populaire des jeux interactifs, ou aux systèmes de simulation utilisés à des fins scientifiques, voire militaires, c'est dans le fait d'explorer et de développer un mode d'immersion et d'interactivité qui engage le corps tout entier dans une expérience subjective d'inter-relation avec l'environnement virtuel. Ainsi une respiration profonde, et des mouvements lents et subtils - en accord avec un état d'équilibre intérieur -, composent l'interface entre l'expérience intuitive de fusion avec la nature et la redécouverte du corps grâce à ce monde métaphorique[3].

Osmose nous plonge dans le parcours initiatique d'un univers poétique. Les territoires symboliques de cet environnement virtuel - forêt, clairière, feuille, ruisseau, étang, monde souterrain, abysse, etc.-, que traverse en toute intimité «l'immersant»[4], reconstituent et réhabilitent la nature comme lieu d'une spiritualité renouvelée. Selon Davies, la déprédation de la nature, qui caractérise historiquement la civilisation occidentale et contribue à en modeler les valeurs, a des répercussions irréversibles qu'il est impérieux d'endiguer: il y a les conséquences environnementales, mais surtout les effets psychologiques, en raison de notre perte de contact direct avec la nature. Osmose se veut un moyen de «résister» à cette dégénérescence et «d'agir contre l'appauvrissement biologique, écologique et spirituel croissant de notre ère». Cette quête d'une corres-pondance intime entre l'être et la nature afin de renouer avec les sources mêmes de notre existence constitue le fondement des préoccupations philosophiques que Davies explore avec acuité dans cette oeuvre nouvelle. Osmose tente d'abolir la dualité cartésienne entre le corps et l'esprit, entre l'univers subjectif et la réalité objective - dualité qui a façonné notre conception de la nature comme entité distincte et contribué à assujettir celle-ci à une exploitation éhontée par l'homme. En expérimentant avec originalité les ressources kinesthésiques du médium numérique, Davies cherche à restaurer des valeurs culturelles qui sont investies du désir de transcender cette dichotomie historique entre soi et la nature: entre notre entité physique, corporelle, et les forces vitales, fluides et mouvantes, auxquelles nous participons.

Dans sa volonté de rétablir les liens primaires entre l'indivitlu et les phénomènes naturels, avec leurs constellations de formes et de rythmes temporels, Davies propose, dans cette installation, des modalités d'immersion et d'interactivité qui vont a l'encontre des codes de comportement généralement associés à l'image numérique. Délaissant la conception anthropocentrique à travers laquelle l'homme occidental exerce traditionnellement sa volonté de puissance, Davies vise plutôt a réaliser les conditions qui traduisent une profonde corrélation entre une attitude corporelle quasi méditative et les mutations inhérentes à toute forme de vie. En ce sens, elle utilise les outils de l'animation infographique pour créer des espaces métaphoriques, dans lesquels l'individu en immersion consent à un rapport renouvelé au monde naturel: les mondes virtuels visités dans un état de sérénité et de réceptivité engendrent idéalement une libération progressive face aux mécanismes de contrôle qui entravent notre désir authentique «d'être au monde». Selon Davies elle-même, «le profond désir de réaffirmer notre interconnexion physique et spirituelle, de soigner l'état d'aliénatíon qui nous sépare de la Nature, voilà ce qui anime le travail.»

Dans le cadre de sa pratique artistique des dernières années, dont Osmose[5] représente l'achèvement, Char Davies développe le pouvoir d'expression d'une technologie révolutionnaire, celle de l'espace virtuel, qui modifie sans cesse, et de manière significative, les champs d'investigation du réel. Dans sa volonté d'outrepasser le réalisme de l'image analogique, inéluctablement ancrée dans la figuration du visible, et de repousser les limites des conventions esthétiques et perspectivistes de l'image numérique, Davies s'approprie les outils de création propres à la réalité virtuelle pour concevoir des espaces simulés non cartésiens, où la représentation s'affirme comme métaphore. Avec Osmose, l'expérience interactive d'immersion dans l'environnement virtuel imprègne l'imaginaire dans l'au-dela des apparences, aux confins du réel et de son illusion. Ces mondes de simulacre, qui maintiennent l'ambiguïté entre la figuration et l'abstraction et se dévoilent subrepticement dans le chatoiement des particules de lumière et la semi-transparence des matières, définissent un «espace enveloppant» a l'intérieur duquel l'individu en immersion peut réinventer les balises de son être.

Notes

1. La Poétique de l'espace, Presses Universitaires de France, Paris, 1974. p. 184.


2. «Osmose comme métaphore: transcendance de la différence, par absorption mutuelle, dissolution des frontières entre intérieur et extérieur, entre soi et le monde, aspiration d'accéder à l'autre.» Cette citation, et celles qui suivent, sont tirées d'un texte inédit de Char Davies, intitulé Osmose.


3. L'installation est conçue pour être à la fois une eexperience solitaire et une expérience de visionnement publique. Isolé du public, l'individu en immersion navigue seul dans l'espace virtuel du casque de visualisation et d'écoute. Par ailleurs, une projection stéréoscopique vidéo sur grand écran permet au public de suivre l'exploration à mesure qu'ellese déroule. Visible à travers une paroi translucide, la silhouette de l'«immersant» attire l'attention du public sur les mouvements par lesquels il ou elle interagit avec l'espace virtuel.


4. Néologisme créé par l'artiste.


5. Selon Davies, la réalisation d'Osmose présente des affinités avec sa pratique de la peinture en ce que les deux relèvent d'un processus d'interaction continuelle avec l'oeuvre en devenir. L'expérience fréquente d'immersion au sein d'Osmose permet à l'artiste de développer progressivement les différents aspects pratiques et conceptuels du projet avec son équipe. Laversion d'Osmose présentée au Musée est la première phase du projet, qui se poursuivra au cours des mois à venir.


Osmose

Conception et réalisation Char Davies / Création graphique Georges Mauro / Développement des logiciels de réalite virtuelle: John Harrison Composition et programmation de la musique: Rick Bidlack / Design et programmation du son: Dorota Blaszczk / Design de la veste: Maryse Bienvenu / Produite par Softimage® / Producteur exécutif: Daniel Langlois / Logiciel: Softimage® / Ordinateurs: Silicon Graphics Inc. / Exposition commanditée par Softimage® et Silicon Graphics Inc. Remerciements particuliers à toutes les personnes de Softimage® qui ont contribué au projet.



Char Davies: Notes Biographiques

Née à Torontoen 1954, Charlotte Davies a étudié les beaux-arts au Bennington College, au Vermont, et à l'Universite de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, où elle obtient en 1978 un baccalauréat en arts visuels. Elle peint ensuite pendant dix ans, tout en travaillant comme cinéaste indépendante pour L'Office national du film du Canada, d'abord en Colombie-Britannique, puis, à partir de 1981, au Québec. En 1987 elle se joint à Softimage et contribue à faire de cette jeune entreprise un leader mondail dans le domaine du logiciel d'animation en troi dimensions. Elle siège au conseil d'adminitration pendant plus de six ans, jusqu'à la fusion avec Microsoft. Elle occupe depuis 1988 le poste de directrice du groupe de recherche visuelle.



Osmose: Les Origines

Les idées qui sous-tendent Osmose sont au coeur de la démarche artistique de Char Davies depuis près de quinze ans. Aprèsavoir embrassé la peinture à la fin des années soixante-dix, l'artistecommence au début des années quatre-vingts à explorer la correspondance symbolique entre la nature et le corps, et elle travaille à rendre le monde comme lumièrequi surgit au sein d'espace virtuel en trois dimensions généré par ordinateur. De 1990 à 1994, sous le titre The Interior Body, Davies produit à l'aide des logiciels de chez Softimage une série d'images fixes à caractère métaphorique, telles Le Feuille, La Racine, la Semence, la Floraison, Le Ruisseau, etc., themes qui ressurgiront dans Osmose. Les mondes virtuels de cette oeuvre pionnière sont nés des recherches de Davies sur l'immersion totale et sur les interactions kinesthésiques,, recherches motivées par un constant souci d'explorer et d'exploiter le pouvoir d'expression que recèle le médium numéeique.



Références de l'Artiste

Bachelard, Gaston, The Poetics of Space, Beacon Press, 1969.
Conley, Verona, editor, Re-Thinking Technologies, University of Minnesota, 1993.
Coyne, Richard, "Heidegger and Virtual Reality", Leonardo, Volume 27, No. 1, MIT Press, 1994.
Evernden, Neil, The Natural Alien: Humankind and Environment, University of Toronto, 1985.
Harrison, Robert Pogue, Forests: The Shadow of Civilization, University of Chicago, 1992.
Heidegger, Martin, The Question Concerning Technology, Harper, 1997.
Leder, Drew, The Absent Body, University Chicago, 1990.
Plumwood, Val, Feminism and the Mastery of Nature, Routledge, 1993.
Rowe, Stan, "Eco-Diversity, the key to Bio-Diversity" World Wildlife Fund Canada discussion paper, 1993.
Wilson, Edward O. and Kellert, Stephen, editors, TheBiophilla Hypothesis, Island Press, 1993.



Principales Expositions (Médium Numérique)

1995

1993

1992

1991

1990



Principales Expositions Individuelles (Peinture)

1987 Espaces Entrelacés, Galerie Powerhouse, Montréal, Québec
1984 Behind the Veil, Galerie Powerhouse, Montréal, Québec



Bibliographie Sélective

Walker, James Fauré. - «Art in the intelligent lunch box». - Modern Painters. - Vol.7, no. 1 (Spring 1994). - p.76-79
Robertson, Barbara. - «Computer artist Char Davies». - Computer Artists. - Vol.3, no.2 (Feb./March 1994). - p.16-20
Leopoldseder, Hannes. - Der Prix Ars Electronica: Internationales Kompendium der Computerkünste/International Compendiumof the Computer Arts. - Autriche. - Veritas-Verlag. - 1993. - p.18, 26-29
Pfitzer, Gary. - «Interior depths». - Computer Graphics World. - Vol. 16, no. 8 (August 1993). - p.62-63
Robertson, Barbara. - «Painting in 3D». - Computer Graphics World. - Vol.14, no. 10 (Oct. 1991). - p.38-45
Leopoldseder, Hannes. - Der Prix Ars Electronica: Internationales Kompendium der Computerkünste/International Compendiumof the Computer Arts. - Autriche. - Veritas-Verlag. - 1990. - p.18, 48-49



Prix

1993 Ars Electronica Distinction, - Graphisme numériqe, Landesmuseum, Linz, Autriche
1991 Pixel Image, Graphisme numériqe, Monte Carlo, Monaco
1990 Ars Electronica: Mention honorifique, Graphisme numérique, Landesmuseum, Linz, Autriche



This article may include minor changes from the original publication in order to improve legibility and layout consistency within the Immersence Website. † Significant changes from the original text have been indicated in red square brackets.

Last verified: December 13th 2013.